You are here

Board of Directors

Kristi Delorme – President

Kristi Delorme has worked as a Social Worker supporting Aboriginal children and families since 2008.  She began her career working within the Aboriginal community after volunteering at the Urban Native Youth Association homework clubs in Vancouver in 2003.  After being successful in her application to become the Program Coordinator with the First Nations School Success Program, Kristi moved into a Program Coordinator position for the Aboriginal Mentorship Program that connects First Nations youth with positive role models and mentors.  Kristi was reminded each day of the negative affect colonization, residential schools and high child removal rates by the government had on the ongoing cycle of addiction, abuse and violence in the Aboriginal community.  This experience motivated Kristi to return to university in 2006, where she obtained her second degree, a Bachelor Degree in Social Work, specializing in Aboriginal child welfare.

In 2008, Kristi began work with the Ministry of Children and Family Development in Burnaby, where she connects children and families to culturally appropriate support services.

Kristi has been volunteering with Beauty Night since 2003 and has served on the board since 2010.

Carrie Wheeler – Vice President & Treasurer

Carrie Wheeler is a talent agent and producer based in Vancouver, Canada with two decades of experience in the fashion and film industries. Her clients are established across Canada and the United States and work on the local, national and international level under her guidance. Carrie has produced feature films, theatre and an online magazine and lifestyle series.

Carrie was awarded the prestigious Irving Avrich Fund for Canada's top 10 emerging filmmakers at the 2014 Toronto International Film Festival, has completed the British Columbia Film Producer’s Internship Program, the Telefilm Canada Online Marketing and Multiplatform Strategies program, has sat on the panel at the Women In Film and Video Vancouver Flash Forward Series, has been a Guest Speaker at WIFVV, Langara College Film Studies Program, School Creative, Vancouver Academy of Dramatic Arts and sat on the panel at the Vancouver International Film Festival for the three years.

Carrie has been volunteering since 2001 and is serving her second year on our board.

Tamara Mallin – Secretary

Tamara has been volunteering with her daughter, Paris, since 2009 and we welcome her to our board.

Cory Thompson – Director at Large

Cory Thompson started with Beauty Night six years ago as a way “to do more”. He believes that behind every person is an amazing story. Having lived on the downtown eastside, he is aware of the suffering that happens, and wanted to make a difference. As a passionate Senior Educator for Dermalogica, Cory has had many opportunities to help women of all ages and cultures become successful in their own lives. For nine years, he has taught women practical skills in order to increase their business-savvy and advance their careers. Before working for Dermalogica, Cory worked for companies such as MAC and Aveda, but found a true home in esthetics, where skin care and human connection meet.

Twenty years of experience in changing people's lives continue to inspire Cory “to do more”. Every person has a story and every person has beauty inside. Everyone deserves to be treated with dignity.

Caroline MacGillivray, Founder and Executive Director

A Medical Qi Gong Therapist, yoga teacher, dance instructor, writer, and speaker are select roles Caroline is known for. Caroline is best known as the founder of Beauty Night Society, an award-winning registered Canadian charity. In 16 years, Beauty Night has given more than 60,000 life-makeovers to women who live in poverty. Her efforts have not gone unnoticed: she is honoured to be a 2002 Flare Volunteer Award (national) recipient, Shakti Public Service 2012 recipient, 2010 Spirit of the Crane Gold Community Award recipient, MetoWe Finalist (National), 2 time Woman of Worth finalist and a five-time YWCA Woman of Distinction Nominee.